Events

By Year

Events Archive - 2013

Event Title Date
Japanese Impressionism and Jamesian Precisions in Natsume Soseki: Contending with Light and Dark Wed, Dec 11, 2013, 4:30 pm
Asian Designs: Rising Powers and the Shape of International Governance Mon, Dec 9, 2013, 12:15 pm
Souls in Flight: Hermeneutics of Divination in the "Chuci" Wed, Dec 4, 2013, 4:30 pm
China and its Crisis of Identity Tue, Nov 26, 2013, 4:30 pm
Protest and criticism in China's Early Empires (221 BCE-220 CE) Wed, Nov 20, 2013, 4:30 pm
Timing is Everything: The Role of Day Books in Early China Wed, Nov 13, 2013, 4:30 pm
Re-Envisioning Kamakura Buddhism Mon, Nov 11, 2013, 6:00 pm
Different Cultures, Same Science Wed, Oct 23, 2013, 4:30 pm
Title: Has Anomie Arrived at China? -- The moral implications of immorality Thu, Oct 17, 2013, 4:30 pm
The Characteristic Features and the Dramatic Impact of Noh Movement Tue, Oct 15, 2013, 4:30 pm
Gender Essentialism and Low Fertility in Postindustrial Societies Tue, Oct 15, 2013,
12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Gagaku Concert
Fri, Oct 11, 2013 (All day) to Sat, Oct 12, 2013 (All day)
Title: Zhuangzi: How to Read a text without an Author Wed, Oct 9, 2013, 4:30 pm
Henry Wendt III '55 Lecture: Where the Wild Genes Are Wed, Oct 2, 2013, 4:30 pm
In Search of a Land of Happiness: Utopia and Its Discontents Mon, Sep 16, 2013, 4:30 pm
Between Fear and Admiration: Japanese Attitudes towards Jews before and during World War II Tue, May 14, 2013, 4:30 pm
Buddhism Is What It Says It Is: The Teachings of Contemporary Japanese Temple Buddhism Wed, May 1, 2013, 4:30 pm
Total Sacrifice: Tokyo's Great Zoo Massacre and the Culture of Wartime Japan Tue, Apr 30, 2013, 4:30 pm
Book Talk: 3.11: Disaster and Change in Japan Thu, Apr 25, 2013, 4:30 pm
Underground Art during Mao's Cultural Revolution Mon, Apr 22, 2013, 4:30 pm
Enduring Dharma: A Symposium on the Inscription of Buddhist Scriptures on Stone Sat, Apr 20, 2013,
10:00 am to 6:00 pm
From Office-selling to Taxation: Mobilizing Elite Support for Government Revenue in Nineteenth-century China Wed, Apr 17, 2013, 4:30 pm
Misjudging the Rise of Asia in the 1970s-2010s: Assessing What International Relations Theory Got Wrong and How Princeton Responded Fri, Apr 12, 2013,
10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Imperial Thinking Mon, Apr 8, 2013, 4:30 pm
“Child/Soldier Configurations”: How War Makes Men of Boys Wed, Apr 3, 2013, 4:30 pm
Talking about Kingship: Courtly Speeches as Instances of "Protopersuasion" in the Mengzi Thu, Mar 14, 2013, 4:30 pm
Revisiting the fish trap allegory: A contextual reading based on Zhuangzi 26 Wed, Mar 13, 2013, 4:30 pm
Conference: The Environmental Humanities in a Changing World
Fri, Mar 8, 2013 (All day) to Sat, Mar 9, 2013 (All day)
Henry Wendt III '55 Lecture: The Economic-Security Nexus in Northeast Asia Wed, Mar 6, 2013, 4:30 pm
The Reception of the Western Discipline of Religious Studies (zongjiaoxue) in Republican China Wed, Feb 27, 2013, 4:30 pm
Film Screening of "Writing in Water" Wed, Feb 20, 2013, 7:30 pm
Magical Food and Spatiotemporal Displacement in Early Medieval Chinese Narratives Mon, Feb 18, 2013, 4:30 pm
Special Features of Uyghur Buddhism Wed, Feb 13, 2013, 4:30 pm
Robot Plays and Japanese Language Education Tue, Feb 12, 2013, 4:30 pm
Self-fashioning and Regional Transformation in Tenth-Century Hebei: Reading the Pictorial Program of the Tomb of Warlord Wang Chuzhi Wed, Feb 6, 2013, 4:30 pm