Events

By Year

Events Archive - 2014

Event Title Date
The Minor Ways Have Their Reason - Discourses on Divination in Chinese Tradition Wed, Dec 3, 2014, 4:30 pm
Fieldwork, Ethnology, and Empire: The Making of Japan's "Transwar Generation" of Social Scientists Wed, Nov 12, 2014, 4:30 pm
Symposium: Tang Center for East Asian Art
Fri, Nov 7, 2014 (All day) to Sat, Nov 8, 2014 (All day)
Lin Yutang and Hu Shi: Two Liberal Paths for Modern China Thu, Nov 6, 2014, 4:30 pm
Concert: Kenny Endo and Kaoru Watanabe duo in collaboration with So Percussion Tue, Oct 14, 2014, 7:00 pm
Wen, Wu and me, too: A Hypothesis on Public Memory Construction in Early China Mon, Oct 6, 2014, 4:30 pm
The Politics of Police Detention in Japan: Facilitating Interrogations Wed, Oct 1, 2014, 4:30 pm
Henry Wendt III Lecture Wed, Sep 17, 2014, 4:30 pm
Discussing Dāna: A One-Day Symposium on Buddhist Charity Sat, May 3, 2014,
9:00 am to 6:00 pm
Discussing Dāna: A One-Day Symposium on Buddhist Charity Sat, May 3, 2014,
9:00 am to 6:00 pm
The Rise of Therapeutic Governing in Postsocialist China Wed, Apr 30, 2014, 4:30 pm
The Rise of Therapeutic Governing in Postsocialist China Wed, Apr 30, 2014, 4:30 pm
China's Turning Point Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 4:30 pm
China's Turning Point Mon, Apr 21, 2014, 4:30 pm
Warning: The Surgeon General Has (Not Yet) Determined that (E-)Cigarette Smoking is Dangerous to Your Health: The Law, Policy, and Politics of E-Cigarett Regulation in the U.S., Japan, and Europe Fri, Apr 18, 2014, 4:30 pm
Warning: The Surgeon General Has (Not Yet) Determined that (E-)Cigarette Smoking is Dangerous to Your Health: The Law, Policy, and Politics of E-Cigarett Regulation in the U.S., Japan, and Europe Fri, Apr 18, 2014,
12:00 pm to 1:30 pm
Chinese Aerospace Development: Comprehensiveness, Converging Sectors Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 4:30 pm
Confucian Perfectionism: A Political Philosophy for Modern Times Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 4:30 pm
Chinese Aerospace Development: Comprehensiveness, Converging Sectors Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 4:30 pm
Confucian Perfectionism: A Political Philosophy for Modern Times Wed, Apr 16, 2014, 4:30 pm
The Perceptual Structure of Emptiness Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 4:30 pm
The Perceptual Structure of Emptiness Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 4:30 pm
Graduate Workshop: Remembrances of Things Past: Contemporary Approaches to Pre-modern Chinese Anecdotal Literature Fri, Apr 11, 2014,
1:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Remembrances of Things Past: Contemporary Approaches to Pre-modern Chinese Anecdotal Literature Fri, Apr 11, 2014,
1:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Neither Donkey nor Horse: Medicine and the Struggle over China's Modernity Mon, Apr 7, 2014, 4:30 pm
Neither Donkey nor Horse: Medicine and the Struggle over China's Modernity Mon, Apr 7, 2014, 4:30 pm
Emblem as Episteme: Images and World Views between Early Modern Europe and Japan Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 4:30 pm
Emblem as Episteme: Images and World Views between Early Modern Europe and Japan Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 4:30 pm
The Ming Court and the Mongol Legacy Wed, Mar 26, 2014, 4:30 pm
The Ming Court and the Mongol Legacy Wed, Mar 26, 2014, 4:30 pm
International Workshop: New Sources for the Study of Japanese Religions
Fri, Mar 14, 2014 (All day) to Sun, Mar 16, 2014 (All day)
International Workshop: New Sources for the Study of Japanese Religions
Fri, Mar 14, 2014 (All day) to Sun, Mar 16, 2014 (All day)
The Alzheimer Enigma amidst Global Aging Thu, Mar 13, 2014, 4:30 pm
The Alzheimer Enigma amidst Global Aging Thu, Mar 13, 2014, 4:30 pm
Co-Sponsor EAS Orita-McCosh Lectureship,Center for Human Values and PIIRS
Thu, Mar 13, 2014 (All day) to Fri, Mar 14, 2014 (All day)
New Directions in Social Studies of Medicine, Science and Ethics Co-Sponsor EAS Orita-McCosh Lectureship,Center for Human Values and PIIRS
Thu, Mar 13, 2014 (All day) to Fri, Mar 14, 2014 (All day)
Pathology of the Everyday in Post-3/11 Japan Wed, Mar 12, 2014, 4:30 pm
"I write, therefore I am:" Scribes, Literacy, and Identity in Early China Mon, Mar 10, 2014, 4:30 pm
The Court as a Battlefield: The Art of War and The Art of Politics in The Han Feizi Wed, Mar 5, 2014, 4:30 pm
The Court as a Battlefield: The Art of War and The Art of Politics in The Han Feizi Wed, Mar 5, 2014, 4:30 pm
The Spiritual and the Secular in China and India Sun, Mar 2, 2014,
1:30 pm to 6:00 pm
The Spiritual and the Secular in China and India Sun, Mar 2, 2014,
1:30 pm to 6:00 pm
Witness outside History: Play for Alteration in Modern Chinese Culture Wed, Feb 26, 2014, 6:00 pm
Witness outside History: Play for Alteration in Modern Chinese Culture Wed, Feb 26, 2014, 6:00 pm
Philosophy of the Past - Early Chinese Philosophy in Context Sat, Feb 22, 2014 (All day)
Graduate Workshop: Philosophy of the Past - Early Chinese Philosophy in Context Sat, Feb 22, 2014 (All day)
Reading the "Demon Parade Picture Scroll" (Hyakki yagyou emaki) 百鬼夜行絵巻を読む Wed, Feb 19, 2014, 4:30 pm
Reading the "Demon Parade Picture Scroll" (Hyakki yagyou emaki) 百鬼夜行絵巻を読む Wed, Feb 19, 2014, 4:30 pm
Discovering Empire in China Mon, Feb 17, 2014, 4:30 pm
Discovering Empire in China Mon, Feb 17, 2014, 4:30 pm
HANDS OF A GOZE (blind female musician) -- the Tactile Culture of Visually-impaired People in Modern Japan Wed, Feb 12, 2014, 4:30 pm
HANDS OF A GOZE (blind female musician) -- the Tactile Culture of Visually-impaired People in Modern Japan Wed, Feb 12, 2014, 4:30 pm
Law, Language, and Subject: Normative Creolization on China's Silk Road Mon, Feb 10, 2014, 12:00 pm
Law, Language, and Subject: Normative Creolization on China's Silk Road Mon, Feb 10, 2014, 12:00 pm